How Do We Reconnect When We’re Lonely?

How Do We Reconnect When We’re Lonely?

I found myself feeling isolated, separate and alone. Had I done this? Did I withdraw as a reaction to the betrayals? How had I become so disconnected? More importantly, how could I reconnect?

Interesting trivia: in 1950, less than 10% of American households contained only one person. By 2010, nearly 27% of households had just one person.

There is an epidemic of loneliness.

“We found that loneliness somehow penetrated the deepest recesses of the cell to alter the way genes were being expressed.” – Stephen Marche

Loneliness affects not only the brain, then, but the basic process of DNA transcription. When you are lonely, your whole body is lonely. Nothing can replace human connection besides spending time with real people, not just the virtual kind.

The truth is I started going to yoga as part of my recovery from a hit-and-run accident that resulted in me spending way too much time in bed by myself. I .

Read the full article on DoYouYoga.com

P1110242

Leave a comment